Pacific Media Centre Pacific Media Watch Pacific Journalism Review Pacific Scoop

Letters to the editor

Letters to Pacific Journalism Review can either be published in the online edition below or submitted as a Forum contribution in the print edition by emailing the editor: pjreview@aut.ac.nz All letters are moderated.

Open letter on International Women's Day
Thursday, March 7, 2013

PFF Chair Titi Gabi
PO Box 7776
Boroko, NCD
Papua New Guinea
Email: titi.gabipng@gmail.com

The Fiji regime's last-minute ban on a 'Reclaim the Night' march honoring International Women's Day has been condemned by regional media monitoring network the Pacific Freedom Forum (PFF).

The Fiji Women's Crisis Centre (FWCC) holds an annual "Reclaim the Night" march in Fiji's urban city, Suva, to mark International Women's Day on March 8, and had received a permit for the gathering on February 19.

However, on the eve of the march, the organisers had their permit revoked because it was felt the event would have security issues.

"PFF condemns the latest measure against free speech and freedom of peaceful assembly in Fiji. The human right to free speech goes hand in hand with association and peaceful assembly and in a country where a host of decrees are gagging freedom of expression and association, the decision to ban the well-established 'Reclaim the night' event says much of the regime stance on the issue," says PFF co chair Titi Gabi of Papua New Guinea.

"The 8th of March is a day for voice, conversation and debate on the critical issues that affect half the world's population. The Reclaim the Night march is one of the outstanding initiatives allowing men
and families to mobilise and own the public debates against sexual and all forms of violence in our communities."

Says PFF co-chair Monica Miller of American Samoa:  "Insecurity, fear and misinformation are compounded and become a major threat to peace when citizens have their ability to be 'citizens' taken away. We urge the regime to allow all Fiji's people to be able to freely voice their concerns on the things that matter, and remove the range of decrees now limiting their freedoms in that regard".

Media censorship in Fiji
Sunday, January 8, 2012

Rajend Naidu
Glenfield 2167
Sydney
Australia

State censorship of the media in Fiji has officially ended. Let us hope the media in Fiji do not relace that with self-censorship just to be on the politically correct side of the state. That of course will not be consistent with its role as an independent media.

If the media is to take any side, it must take the side of the people - be its voice and  its eyes - to provide the public scrutiny and accountability needed to keep the state on the straight and narrow path of good governance.

On its part, the state if it is serious about promoting true democracy must be prepared to accept criticism and not cultivate a culture of sycophancy or a cesspool of conformism through covert coercion.

A-G Aiyaz Saiyad-Khaiyum says the Fijian state does not care about the thinking of the international community (yahoo!7 news 7/1' Fiji lifts emmergency regulations') but remember the outside world is watching us to see if we are indeed headed towards democratic governance in all respects - including having a robust and vibrant media.

Rajend Naidu

Congrats on the new website
Monday, December 19, 2011

Mike Fletcher
Executive Director
New Zealand Journalists Training Organisation
Wellington
New Zealand

Congrats on the new website. It has a great feel and great content.

All the best for the festive season.

Cheers

Mike

Superb, world-class resource
Saturday, December 17, 2011

Professor Paul Moon
Professor of History
Auckland University of Technology
Private Bag 92-006
Auckland
New Zealand

Kia ora David (and all the others involved),

This is a superb, world-class resource, and AUT is very fortunate to be hosting it.  I anticipate a lot of fascinating reading ahead.

All the best,
Paul

 

Congratulations to PJR
Saturday, December 17, 2011

Patrick Craddock
Greytown
Wairarapa 5794
New Zealand

Congratulations David and Tony for this new site. I look forward to reading it on  a regular basis.

Pat
 

Excellent journalism website
Friday, December 16, 2011

Misa Victoria Lepou
Lecturer
Journalism Department
Institute of Technology
National University of Samoa
Apia, Samoa

Excellent website Prof Robie! Wow! Isn't it great to finally call you Prof? It takes a great leap of faith to build up National University of Samoa journalism too, so many challenges especially when you need to find equipment first to help local students. I tell you, David, it's never been easy trying to establish all the missing links before this programme takes off to your standards.

You and all my former lecturers have been and will always be my mentor. From resourced equipment to texts to online media is a huge challenge and task for me to ensure this programme is of high quality. At the same time you need a supportive industry. The help I've got over the years have been donor agencies to start this Diploma Programme from start and look at quality students. The industry never sees it that way and I know you have been through all that from the time of University of the South Pacific. Now I know what it feels like.

I hope to meet with you in the near future and bring you here for a visit at what we have.

Cheers

New PJR website
Friday, December 16, 2011

Alan Samson
Journalism Lecturer
Massey University
Wellington
New Zealand

Well done, PJR!  You should be very proud of what you have achieved and are achieving.  The two special reports in your latest issue – Pacific media freedom and media ownership – are especially important updates for the region, as well as crucial research references.   Could these be made at least quasi-regular features?   I wish you well too with the swept-up online presence – it’s looking great.  

My best wishes

Congratulations to PJR
Wednesday, November 30, 2011

John Herbert
United Kingdom

My congratulations on this edition. It was excellent and well up to international standard. it is an important addition to international journalism knowledge, and deserves the widest possible international circulation. You are taking the journal from strength to strength.

Well done to you for the editorial input and to all contributors.

UNESCO World Press Freedom Day book review
Monday, November 21, 2011

Associate Professor Martin Hadlow
University of Queensland
Brisbane
Australia

As convenor of the UNESCO World Press Freedom Day 2010 event held at the University of Queensland, I welcomed the Pacific Journalism Review (Vol. 17(2), October 2011) article on the conference proceedings.

It might be useful for me to clarify one matter about the online UNESCO conference document (Freedom of Information: the Right to Know) as several other colleagues have mentioned the point also discussed by your reviewer, namely the publication of all the contributions of Pacific participants.

Conference delegates might recall that the overall WPF Day 2010 activity was a three-day event. The official UNESCO conference was held onMay7 2-3, culminating in the presentation of the WPF Day Journalism Award on the May 3, which is the UN Day commemorating press freedom. However, to ensure that we were able to take advantage of the presence of the huge array of talented individuals who had travelled to Brisbane for the conference, we also arranged two one-day workshops on May 1 (Masterclass on FOI: Laws and Issues and Indigenous Voice Closing the Gap), along with a special lecture series in the days prior to, and after, the official event.

From the UNESCO point of view, the presentations of May 2-3 were within the official conference programme and, as such, those were the proceedings which found their way into the final UNESCO document. Although my name is not included in the Freedom of Information: the Right to Know document, I was actually editor of the publication. As such, I wish to assure speakers whose papers were presented on other days that there is nothing untoward about their non-inclusion in the final document. Simply a matter of UNESCO protocol.

Thank you for this opportunity to clarify the matter.

Pacific Journalism Review also published a UNESCO WPFD Media freedom in Oceania edition (v16(2), October 2010), co-edited by Martin Hadlow

Informed discourse on a key world region
Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Dr Lee Duffield
Queensland University of Technology
Brisbane
Australia

As a researcher on journalism issues with mainly European  focus, my links with Pacific Journalism Review began after a 2004 teaching and research venture in Papua New Guinea, while seeking  a good outlet for resultant articles and reviews. In 2008 I became a research associate of its affiliated Pacific Media Centre (Te Amokura), and in 2010 a member of the advisory board. I am a senior lecturer in journalism at the Queensland University of Technology, previously 20 years an ABC journalist, including time as a news editor and overseas correspondent. Academic service includes board membership of the ERA-listed eJournalist.  Continuing in journalism I publish a foreign news outlet, EUAustralia Online. My PhD  thesis and selection of most recent publications - books, papers, articles including work on PNG -  are available. With the ERA 2012 Ranked Outlets Public Consultation, I re-read editions of PJR covering the review period, to provide an informed and hopefully useful statement.

Since 2005 I have published three articles in the journal; was honoured to contribute on two occasions to its strong book review section, and have been an occasion a peer referee. In 2008 I was appointed a Research Associate of the Pacific Media Centre (Te Amokura) at Auckland University of Technology, associated with the PJR, and in 2010 was appointed to the editorial advisory board of the journal.

The PJR  observes high scholarly standards, drawing researchers of international standing, providing a monitor on the Pacific of lasting value worldwide. It is well supported, by AUT,  backed also by the Journalism Studies Professoriat as board members and contributors, several publishing also via other international journals and conferences, e.g.  AJRAMIC.  The editor affirms “almost all papers are by well-established researchers with reputations”, over half the articles from Australia. As the leading global source in the strategic field of South Pacific media and civilisation, PJR engages with the international research community also as a main outlet for general writing on media. This attracts submissions, restricting acceptances.  This writer as a referee, has required rewrites; has had to rewrite one of his own articles, and has noted two colleagues’ articles rejected with explanation. New writers are mentored. Refereeing is strictest on Pacific Islands themes including inter-cultural issues.

The PJR brings a universal standard of erudition to its informed discourse on a key world region. While its speciality has a geographic expression, it is not parochial; not a “regional” publication to confined interests and quality support for PhD scholars. Its Pacific scholarship gives authentic, foremost treatment in the world to communication aspects of Pacific history, e.g. full treatment of Fiji crisis. Its expertise is from many places, mostly Pacific Islands, Australia and NZ; including non-university persons with “something to say”, able in research, able to penetrate meanings of events,  viz  Dale Hermanson,  Pasifika Comms., Fiji;  Saveo Sano Malifo, publisher-editor, Samoa Observer;  Chronix Manek, PNG Ombudsman; Richard Mills, former Commonwealth SES, on right-to-know; Lisa Williams-Lahari, WAVE women’s media, in Rarotonga. 

Such contributors add strength, matching deep and applied knowledge – an aspect also of Journalism as professional discipline.